The Delhi Metro is set to expand with two new corridors expected to be ready by 2028. These corridors will run from Lajpat Nagar to Saket G Block and from Indralok to Indraprastha. The Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC) has initiated the process for necessary approvals, including land acquisition, and expects construction to start soon.

Under the Golden and Green Line expansion, these new corridors, approved in March 2024, will feature extensive planning and civil construction. The 12.4 km Indralok-Indraprastha corridor will include ten metro stations, while the 8.4 km Lajpat Nagar-Saket G Block corridor will feature eight stations. Both corridors will enhance connectivity with eight new interchange stations, increasing the total number of interchange stations in the Delhi Metro network to 48.

The new interchange stations will include Indralok, Nabi Karim, New Delhi, Delhi Gate, and Indraprastha on the Indralok-Indraprastha corridor, and Lajpat Nagar, Chirag Delhi, and Saket G Block on the Lajpat Nagar-Saket G Block corridor. Currently, Delhi Metro has 29 interchange stations built during Phases 1, 2, and 3, with 11 more being constructed under Phase 4.

Significant progress is being made on the three priority corridors of Phase 4: Majlis Park to Maujpur, Janakpuri West to RK Ashram Marg, and Aerocity to Tughlakabad. Once the RK Ashram-Janakpuri West corridor becomes operational, Azadpur will join the list of triple interchange stations, a distinction currently held only by Kashmiri Gate, which connects the Red, Yellow, and Violet Lines.

These developments signify a major leap forward in Delhi’s metro infrastructure, promising enhanced connectivity and convenience for residents.